Comfortably Numb Training Plan

10 weeks.

The countdown to Comfortably Numb is on! Comfortably Numb is a 23k trail run, that is really just one giant hill – climb 800m over the first 12 km, then descend to the finish line. Talk about a quad-thrasher!

Here’s the plan:

  • Tuesdays – run hills, working up to an hour of hill repeats by the end of April, then adding some intensity.
  • Thursdays – shorter, faster runs of 6-10km, throwing in some fartlek intervals for variety.
  • Weekends – long runs of 2+ hours (15+km), adding in more hills as time goes on. 3 and 5 weeks out for the race I’m planning some particularly hard runs with some extended climbs and descents.

Yup. Just 3 runs a week. Of course, one it (finally) stops raining, I might be inspired to throw in a few shorter recovery runs. But who am I kidding? I’m pretty sure that I would rather spend that time hiking or climbing instead.

The only other training I’m doing is a super-minimalist conditioning routine. It’s just 4 exercises:

  • Pushups,
  • Split squats,
  • One leg hip lifts, and
  • One leg calf raises.

I started two weeks ago with 1 set of 10 reps, and I’ve been adding 1 rep per workout. Once I get to 15 reps, it will be time to start over with 2 sets of 10 reps, and add one rep to each set until I get to 2×15. Then it’s time to move on to 3 sets. I figure I will be doing something like 3×20 or 3×30 by race day 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

